Federica Pellegrini among the thirty athletes to run for IOC Athletes’ Commission elections in Tokyo


PellegriniNominated by their respective National Olympic Committees (NOCs) together with their NOC Athletes’ Commissions, the 30 candidates contending for the four available positions within the IOC AC are from 30 NOCs and 19 summer sports.

The full list of candidates and their biographies can be downloaded here.


Commenting on the announcement, Kirsty Coventry, the current Chair of the IOC AC, said: “It is great to see such a fantastic response from the athlete community with the interest we have received from athletes around the world in this election. I am impressed by the diverse representation of sports and countries, and this demonstrates how much athletes care, and want to share their voice and play a central role in the Olympic Movement. It is exciting to have such a high calibre of candidates, and I wish them all the very best of luck,” Coventry added.


The athletes elected by their peers during the Olympic Games Tokyo 2020 will replace the following members, whose term of office will expire at the end of these Games: IOC AC Chair Kirsty Coventry (Zimbabwe), Vice-Chair Danka Bartekova (Slovakia), Tony Estanguet (France) and James Tomkins (Australia). In addition, an appointed member of the Commission, Stefan Holm (Sweden), will also end his term next year.


All athletes competing at Tokyo 2020 will be able to vote for their representatives at the Athlete365 Space positioned at the entrance to the dining hall in the Olympic Village, and also at other sites such as the football cities and the sailing venue. The poll will be open from 14 July (the day the Olympic Village opens) to 4 August 2020.


The vote will be supervised and certified by an Election Committee, appointed by IOC President Thomas Bach, whose members are: Nicole Hoevertsz (Chair), as a representative of the IOC Legal Affairs Commission; Pâquerette Girard Zappelli, as the IOC Chief Ethics and Compliance Officer; and Kikkan Randall, as a representative of the IOC Athletes’ Commission.


The IOC AC is composed of a maximum of 23 members (12 members directly elected by their peers and a maximum of 11 appointed), who serve a term of eight years. The vote is held at every Olympic Games, with four members elected at each Summer Games, and two at each Winter Games. Furthermore, the IOC President, in consultation with the IOC AC Chair, can appoint further Commission members, to ensure a good balance between regions, genders and sports. The Chair and Vice-Chair of the Commission are elected by the Commission members, and must also be elected members of the AC.


Up to 15 members of the IOC AC are IOC members, providing athlete representatives with the same representation within the IOC membership as the International Federations and NOCs. Furthermore, the IOC AC Chair is a member of the IOC Executive Board, to ensure that athletes are part of the decision-making process within the Olympic Movement, which is one of the main responsibilities of the AC, together with supporting athletes’ development in their sporting and non-sporting careers, and serving as a link between the athletes and the IOC.